Telematics applications benefit from the tremendously increasing capabilities in Web technology, telecommunication, machine-to-machine communication, and information processing. The concepts of Cyber Physical Systems, Industrial Internet and of Internet of Things enlarge the scope of classical remote control and offer several new applications. However, beyond sound reference examples of new technology one needs appropriate theory, methods, proof of concepts and industrial standardization as well. All these aspects are within the scope of the 4th IFAC Symposium on Telematics Applications.
The aim of the conference is to report on recent research and application of telematics. Researchers and practitioners are invited to discuss on recent developments, deployments, technology trends and research results, as well as initiatives related to telematics applications. Both, colleagues from academia and from industry are cordially invited to contribute to this tri-annual symposium.
Special sessions can cover subjects or cross-subjects belonging to the topics of interest, or novel topics related with the ones identified within the topics of interest. Special sessions can also have the drive from specific R&D project or clusters of projects, namely EU-sponsored R&D projects. If you are interested in organizing a special session, please contact Special Sessions Chair.
A demonstration session about tools is planned on the latest trends in Industrial Informatics. If you are interested in organizing a demonstration, please contact the local organizing committee.
Tutorials are planned on the latest trends in Industrial Informatics. If you are interested in organizing a tutorial, please contact IPC chair.
All submitted contributions must be written in English and comply with the IFAC format, detailed in the instructions on the website. Submissions should be made in PDF format, and are limited to 6 pages. Additional to regular paper submissions, the symposium is also open to special sessions proposals, which cover subjects or cross-subjects belonging to the topics of interest, or novel topics related with interest. Special sessions can also have clusters of projects, namely EU-sponsored R&D projects. Prospective organizers of special sessions are invited to submit a set of 4 – 6 invited papers with a well defined, cohesive focus on a topic relevant to the symposium. Invited sessions may also include a tutorial presentation. All regular papers, invited session proposals and invited session papers must be submitted electronically through the IFAC PaperPlaza Conference Manuscript Management System: Instructions and paper templates (LateX and Word) are available on the Author Guide page of the IFAC website:

Papers will be accepted with the understanding that the authors will present them at the Telematics Applications Symposium. At least one author of every accepted paper will be required to register for the symposium before uploading the final version.

Accepted papers will be included in the symposium proceedings and published in electronic form in the IFAC-PapersOnline series, hosted on the ScienceDirect web site.

Invited sessions proposals Feb 15th, 2016
Submission of full paper May 23rd, 2016
Notification of acceptance July 30th, 2016
Camera-ready version submission Sep. 1st, 2016
National Organization Committee (NOC)
Carlos Eduardo Pereira | UFRGS and EMBRAPII | Brazil
NOC Co-Chair
Renato V. Bayan Henriques | UFRGS | Brazil
NOC-Vice-Chair from Industry
Alecio Binotto | IBM Research | Brazil
Chair of International Program Committee (IPC)
Ulrich Jumar | ifak | Germany
IPC-Vice-Chair from Industry
Philipp Nenninger | ABB | Germany
Special/Invited Sessions Chair and Editor
Edison Pignaton de Freitas | UFRGS | Brazil
Publicity Chair
Achim Rettberg | Oldenburg | Germany
Adrião Duarte Doria Neto (UFRN, BR)
Alecio Binotto (IBM Research, BR)
Angel Cuenca (UPV, ES)
Bernd Hellingrath (Uni Münster, DE)
Birgit Vogel-Heuser (Technical University Munich - DE)
Sašo Blažič (University of Ljubljana, SI)
Bran Selic (Malina Software Corp., CA)
Christian Diedrich (University Magdeburg, DE)
Christian Facchi (Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt, DE)
Dennis Brandão (USP-SC, BR)
Detlef Zuehlke (DFKI and Univ Kaiserslautern – DE)
Dmitriy Shutin (DLR, Germany)
Dumitrache Ioan (Politehnica University of Bucharest, RO)
Enzo Frazzon (UFSC, BR)
Evelio Martín García Fernández (UFPR, BR)
Gabor Sziebig (Budapest Univ., HU)
Geilson Loureiro (INPE, BR)
Giovanni Del Galdo (TU Ilmenau, DE)
Gonzalo Farías Castro (Univ. Católica de Valparaíso, CH)
Guilherme Calheiros (Porto Digital, BR)
Gustavo Alves (IPP, PT)
Hideaki Ishii (Tokyo Institute of Technology, JP)
Hubert Roth (University of Siegen, DE)
Ivan Müller (UFRGS, BR)
Ivanowitch M. D. da Silva (UFRN, BR)
Jan Lunze (Universität Bochum, DE)
Jay Lee (Univ Cincinnati - US)
Jean-Philippe Georges (CRAN, FR)
Jerker Delsing (Lulea University of Technology, SE)
João Cesar Netto (UFRGS, BR)
João Manoel Gomes da Silva Jr (UFRGS, BR)
João Paulo Lustosa da Costa (UnB, BR)
Joaquin Carrasco Gomez (Univ. of Manchester, UK)
José Barata (Univ Nova de Lisboa, PT)
Kim Dong-Seong (Kumoh National Inst. of Tech, KR)
Klaus Schilling (University Würzburg, DE)
Kleanthis Thramboulidis (University of Patras, GR)
Lawrence Whitman (University of Arkansas, US)
Lei Ma (Institute of Systems Science and Technology, CN)
Luis Almeida (Univ Porto, PT)
Lutz Rauchhaupt (ifak, DE)
Magnus Jonsson (Halmstad University, SE)
Marcos de Sales Guerra Tsuzuki (EPUSP/PMR, BR)
Marga Marcos (University of the Basque Country, ES)
Marek Wegrzyn (University of Zielona Góra, PL)
Michael Weyrich (University of Stuttgart, DE)
Nicholas Wickström (Halmstad University, SE)
Norian Marranghello (UNESP, BR)
Renato Ventura Bayan Henriques (UFRGS, BR)
Sandra Céspedes (Universidad de Chile, CL)
Shin-ichi Nakasuka (University of Tokyo, JP)
Sophie Tarbouriech (LAAS, FR)
Sri Krishnan (Ryerson University - CAN)
Teodiano Bastos (UFES, BR)
Teresa Restivo (University of Porto, PT)
Thierry Divoux (Universite Henri Poincare, FR)
Thomas Rauschenbach (Fraunhofer IOSB, GR)
Tobias Zobel (FAU, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)
Ulf Bogdawa (Skydrones, BR)
Valter Roesler (UFRGS, BR)
Vicente Lucena (UFAM, BR)
Walter Fetter Lages (UFRGS, BR)
Yoneyama Jun (Aoyama Gakuin University, JP)

The 4th IFAC Symposium on Telematics Applications will be held in Porto Alegre the capital of the Brazilian state of Rio Grande do Sul. The conference will be held at the central campus of UFRGS (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul). Porto Alegre is located in the Southern of Brazil and is the geographic center of Mercosul. There are regular daily flights linking Porto Alegre to the majority of Brazilian state capitals, as well direct flights from/to Argentina, Uruguay, Peru, Panama, USA, and Portugal.